HOME | ABOUT US | Speaker | Americans Together | Videos | www.CenterforPluralism.com | Please note that the blog posts include my own articles plus selected articles critical to India's cohesive functioning. My articles are exclusively published at www.TheGhouseDiary.com You can send an email to: MikeGhouseforIndia@gmail.com

Saturday, March 17, 2012

India: Political Parties and Key Politicians

Parties and Key Politicians of India

SP 224


SAD 68



  • Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Shiv Sena - Maharashtra
  • Janata Dal (United) - Bihar and Karnataka
  • Shiromani Akali Dal - Punjab
  • Indian National Lok Dal - Haryana
  • Asom Gana Parishad - Assam
  • Rashtriya Lok Dal - Uttar Pradesh
  • Nagaland People's Front-Nagaland

Congress and its Allies - (UPA)
  • Indian National Congress
  • Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  • Nationalist Congress Party
  • Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
  • All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen
  • Republican Party of India (Athvale)
  • Sikkim Democratic Front
  • Indian Union Muslim League
  • Trinamool Congress

Third Front
  • Biju Janata Dal - BJD
  • Communist Party of India - CPI
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) - CPM
  • Revolutionary Socialist Party - RSP
  • All India Forward Bloc
  • Telugu Desam Party - TDP
  • Telangana Rastrasa Samithi - TRS
  • Janta Dal (Secular) - JD(S)
  • Haryana Janahit Party


Key Contenders / Key Contestants

Live Update
Biennial Elections to the Legislative Council 2009-2010
Uttar Pradesh

Sonia GandhiAfter a long self-imposed silence, Sonia Gandhi has rose to the helm of Indian politics in 1999. Widow of the assassinated Indian former Prime Minister, she has now matured in the game... (more)

Lal Krishna AdvaniShri. L.K. Advani was born on November 08, 1929 in Karachi (now Pakistan). Charismatic Lal Krishna Advani has been in active politics for over half a century. He began as Rajasthan state secretary in 1951... (more)

Rahul GandhiProjected as the Congress(I)'s great hope in a country with an overwhelmingly young population, the 33-year-old Rahul Gandhi has a lot riding on his shoulders. Rahul, son of the slain former Indian PM Rajiv Gandhi... (more)

Lalu Prasad YadavLalu Prasad Yadav is an Indian politician in Bihar and president of Rastriya Janata Dal. He is famous for his charismatic leadership and mass appeal among the backward castes and religious minorities.(more)

Narendra ModiNarendra Modi is the chief minister of Gujarat since 2001. He entered politics in 1987 by joining the Bharatiya Janata Party. He was interested in social services since childhood. (more)

Mulayam Singh YadavMulayam Singh Yadav, a veteran politician, entered electoral politics in the 1960s and won his first election in 1967 to become an MLA in UP Assembly. (more)

BangarappaBorn on 26th October 1933 in Kubatur, Distt. Shimoga (Karnataka) , Bangarappa was Chief Minister during 1992-94. Since 1967, he has been a sure-shot winner, particularly in...(more)

D. P. OjhaBihar ex-DGP D.P. Ojha is contesting as an Independent from Begusarai in Bihar after the NDA denied him a ticket for the coming Lok Sabha polls. Ojha was the toast of the public as recently as four months ago because of...(more)

JayapradhaBollywood star Jayaprada sprang a surprise by becoming Samajwadi Party candidate from Rampur Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh to upset the apple cart of Congress stalwart Begum Noor Banu, who represented...(more)

Jyotraditya ScindiaJyotiraditya Scindia was born on January 1, 1971 in Mumbai which makes him among the youngest in the Parliament. Elected to the Lok Sabha in February 2002 from his father the late Madhavrao Scindia's constituency...(more)

M Veerappa MoilyM.Veerappa Moily was born at Mudubidre in the Karkala taluk of the Dakshina Kannada district, then in the Madras Presidency, on 12th January 1940. He completed his Primary and High School education...(more)

Maneka GandhiManeka Gandhi was born on 26th August 1956 in Delhi and educated at Lawrence School, Sanawar. She is the widow of Sanjay Gandhi, the son of Indira Gandhi (former Prime Minister of India)...(more)

Murli Manohar JoshiDr. Murli Manohar Joshi was born on January 5th , 1934 in Nandavi, Maharashtra. Dr. Joshi had his early education at Hindu High School, Chandpur and completed his higher education from Meerut College...(more)

Nafisa AliNafisa Ali, Winner of the Miss India crown at 19, runner up at the subsequent Miss International contest, model, actress, celebrity wife, TV star and the recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Excellence Award...(more)

Sachin PilotSachin Pilot son of the late Rajesh Pilot was born on March 13th 1978 and was educated at the Air Force School in New Delhi and at St. Stephen's College, he also has a degree from the Wharton Business School in the US...(more)

Suresh KalmadiMr. Suresh Kalmadi was born on May 1st 1944 at Pune in Maharashtra. Mr. Kalmadi has been Pune's man in Delhi for the last 22 years. He has served on many committees and made important contributions...(more)

Vinod KhannaVinod Khanna was born on 6th October 1946 in Peshawar (now in Pakistan), in a business family which migrated from Punjab to Delhi, to settle down in Mumbai in 1947. He did his schooling in St. Xaviers High School Mumbai...(more)


No comments:

Post a Comment